Connect with us

opinion

Batteries Need A Little Extra Juice?

Published

on

Batteries are one of the few things that bridge the gap between primitive and modern day tools.

But there is a huge problem with them… most of the standard batteries we have on hand are a one time use item, that gets tossed as soon as they run out of juice.

Sure they have long lasting lithium batteries, and rechargeable NiMH batteries and a few other different types, but those are a good deal more expensive.

What If I told you that you could now recharge “one-time use” alkaline batteries?

Can you imagine how much money that would save over the course of a year??

Now after accidentally blowing up several CD players in my youth I have to admit I am a little hesitant about these…

But based on the reviews on amazon as well as the reviews on amazon, I think this gadget is worth a shot!

Check out Batteries Need A Little Extra Juice? at https://survivallife.com/universal-rapid-charger-review/Check out Batteries Need A Little Extra Juice? at https://survivallife.com/universal-rapid-charger-review/

 

Now maybe everyone else knew this, but I certainly didn’t!

This means that once you have purchased a battery charger, such as this Universal Rapid Charger, you then effectively extended the average life of each of your batteries at least 2-3 times.

If you pick up one of these you should start asking friends and family to save their batteries for you.

You could also ask local stores like Best Buy and even your workplace if they could save their batteries for you.

Now this might not be news to some of you, but I was surprised to find out that a AA battery wasn’t a single use item any more!

Hopefully this gadget saves some money for people like me, that didn’t know.

Think about how much we depend on batteries.

All our flashlights, remotes and radios etc take batteries; not to mention, if you have kids or grand-kids!

How much do you think you spend throughout the year on all of the batteries that go into their toys and portable game systems?

If nothing else, it is for more Eco-friendly to reuse old batteries, rather than just throwing them in the trash…

And I know that When TSHTF this thing runs off of a wall outlet… but just curious if anyone knows if this will work on a solar generator?

It takes a long time to charge the batteries but has a relatively low power consumption

P.S.  It’s not just  AA batteries that this thing charges.

It also charges AAA, C, D, N, 9V, Ni-MH (Nickel Metal Hydride), Ni-CD (Nickel Cadmium), RAM (Rechargeable Alkaline Manganese) and even Alkaline (previously Non-Rechargeable) batteries all on the same tool!

Check this charger out and let me know what you think!

 

Read more with these related articles from our site:

How to Revive Dead Batteries

Make Batteries Last Longer

Battery Run Time: How Long Will That Backup Work?




Comments
Continue Reading
14 Comments

14 Comments

  1. Denise

    September 6, 2013 at 10:40 AM

    These worked great on a bag of old alkalines that were ready for the garbage.

  2. Diana

    September 6, 2013 at 10:54 AM

    http://www.ccrane.com/more-categories/batteries-chargers/solar-powered-battery-charger.aspx#.Uin6FX80t8o

    Here’s a solar charger for small batteries. Is there some reason this wouldn’t work the same on Alkaline batteries as the one you show?

    • JJM

      September 6, 2013 at 12:59 PM

      Different ‘types’ of batteries require different charging conditions for maximum charge, that’s what’s attractive about the Maximal with the 3 charge selections. The AC adapter for the Maximal provides 12 VDC at 1 amp to the charger, so no reason why you cannot use with most 12 volt supplies.
      If I had the Solar, I would test it out, recognizing the chance of damaging it.

      • JJM

        September 6, 2013 at 1:20 PM

        A couple web search results: (The main thing I come away with is do not let them get HOT.)
        Some alkaline chargers use pulsed technology (electrical pulses vs constant voltage and current).
        A NiCad charger should never be used on alkaline batteries. Such a charger would supply currents in excess of safe values, would not turn off automatically when battery voltage exceeds safe limits, and would continue unchecked until the battery was damaged.
        Be sure that your alkaline batteries do not get ‘hot’ while charging. This commentator charges for 1 hour then lets alkaline cool completely before resuming.

  3. Rodger Bufford

    September 6, 2013 at 11:35 AM

    It is now defunct,, but I used a charger I purchased to recharge single use batteries for a decade or more beginning in the 1990s. It worked well, and most could be used several times, perhaps a dozen or more re-charges before they gave up.

    Rodger

  4. Karen Funk

    September 6, 2013 at 12:14 PM

    Is this the only charger that can be used for all batteries? And is there a reason that it is the one and only? I have a battery charger of a different brand- would it work? Thanks for the great website.

  5. JJM

    September 6, 2013 at 12:38 PM

    As a child, we used to store our ‘dead’ alkaline batteries on top of the propane water heater. The heat they were exposed to would allow many of them to become useful again in our flashlights.
    I have recharged alkaline in a regular charger to get a bit more life out of them but never tracked the results. Reviews on the Maximal are good, might acquire one for the 3 dedicated settings.

  6. leonard

    September 6, 2013 at 3:09 PM

    late 60’s early 70’s i had a portable radio that ran on 9 volt battery or ac electric. would plug it in at night and listen to it all night and run around town listening to it all day, never replaced that battery EVER! i have a simular modle to the charger you feature here, the cord is hard wired so you have to powr it with inverter if useing dc. it will not charge a DEAD alkiline, but if it has any thing left in it, it will charge it up, just not if it is totaly dead. and in prison in arkansas in late 70’s early 90’s we could charge them by placing on top of floresent light fixture, we would refill bic disposible lighters from the propane pig at the chicken house too, or light a fire with a pencil, a cigarette paper , a piece of wire and an electric outlet. we made “stingers” from pieces of metal, a piece of wood and electric cord to boil water in 5 gallon bucket to boil eggs etc…

  7. chris g.

    September 7, 2013 at 8:46 AM

    We have, for years, used the “REZAP, Battery + Engineer” by Digital Works. We can usually recharge 10 to 12 times each battery- the recharge does get less effective over time. On not completely dead regular batteries (not the expensive rechargables) it takes 3 to 8 hours plug in time, depending on the weather and condition of the battery to be charged. Winter charging (if you can call it winter in Georgia) takes longer. Old and very low charge/almost dead batteries also take longer. Our REZAP has a tester so it’s fairly easy to figure the recharge time needed, the light blinks when it’s charging and is on solid when it’s

  8. chris g.

    September 7, 2013 at 8:48 AM

    (continued) finished charging. DO NOT OVERCHARGE BATTERIES (aka forget and leave them overnight) really, really don’t do that!

  9. Chuck

    September 8, 2013 at 11:26 AM

    There are solar trickeler chargers for automobile batteries available in the market place. They are, of course, 12 volt. I don’t know the amperage of them. The big drawback is that the connectors are designed for car battery terminals, although I would imagine someone with some electronics knowledge could kluge something together to make the solar car battery charger charge other batteries. Don’t know if alkaline charges the same as lead acid. I’m not the “someone with some electronic knowledge” mentioned above.

  10. Pingback: Bring Dead Ni-cad Batteries Back to Life - Survival Life | Blog - Survival Life | Preppers | Survival Gear | Blog

  11. Pingback: Skills: 5 Tips For Restoring Dead Batteries – Urban Survival Times

  12. Pingback: How to Bring Dead Ni-Cad Batteries Back to Life | Survival Life

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Trending

Copyright © 2020 Survival Life. This copyrighted material may not be republished without express permission. The information presented here is for general educational purposes only. MATERIAL CONNECTION DISCLOSURE: You should assume that this website has an affiliate relationship and/or another material connection to the persons or businesses mentioned in or linked to from this page and may receive commissions from purchases you make on subsequent web sites. You should not rely solely on information contained in this website to evaluate the product or service being endorsed. Always exercise due diligence before purchasing any product or service. This website contains advertisements.