Connect with us

Fishing, Hunting, & Trapping

Our Favorite Crossbow Reviews

Published

on

Crossbow technology has come a long way as of late.

With a new market full of smart, selective buyers, manufactures have had to step up their game and start producing even better products to keep educated crossbow enthusiasts coming back for more.

More and more people are really looking into what they want from their bows before deciding what to buy.

With this in mind, we picked some of our favorite crossbow reviews to share.

 

1. Barnett Ghost 410

The “410” in the moniker represents this bow’s potential top speed. However, we consistently clocked the Ghost at about 417 fps (with a 416-grain arrow). That incredible speed is throttled through a 15.5-inch power stroke, and an even longer chassis is built under it (37 inches overall).

Screen Shot 2014-03-12 at 9.08.01 AM

An innovative all-carbon riser lightens what would otherwise be an unmanageable bow, and the adoption of a CNC-machined aluminum arrow track also reduces forward weight, keeping the Ghost’s center of gravity near the centerline. At a shade under 9 pounds, it isn’t light, but it handles and swings ably. For the full review, click here.

Barnett Ghost Video Review

 

2. Tenpoint Stealth SS

The name TenPoint is synonymous with crossbow hunting, and the 2013 Stealth SS is loaded from stock to stirrup with features and technologies designed to enhance your shooting experience.

Screen Shot 2014-03-12 at 9.12.06 AM

What’s a Bullpup? At the center of the Stealth’s design is the FSB (Functionally Superior Bullpup) stock. A bullpup stock places the action behind the trigger, which allows for a shorter,  lighter design. Maneuverability is of prime interest to the folks at TenPoint, who have heard the requests of their customers for smaller rigs. For the full review, click here.

Tenpoint Stealth SS Video Review

 

3. Darton Viper SS Extreme

Built like a battle ship, maybe a bit sturdier, the Darton Viper SS Xtreme is our first experience with Darton crossbows. But after testing this futuristic-looking bow, we’re quite certain it won’t be the last we test. If the rock solid build and simple operation doesn’t catch your fancy, precision accuracy (1-inch group average), good speed, and a match grade trigger sure will.

Screen Shot 2014-03-12 at 9.22.21 AM

The one downside is, at 9 pounds, 14 ounces, the Viper SS Xtreme feels about like a serpent with a belly full of small lizards and mammals. Slim this model down and it will be a force to be reckoned with! For the full review, click here.

Darton Viper SS Video Review

 

4. Carbon Express Covert SLS

Testers liked the looks of the green anodized aluminum and the radical styling. However, three things make us reconsider the Carbon Express Covert SLS. The scope, while clear and functional, is mounted too high for proper eye alignment. The trigger is too creepy and heavy for our taste.

 Screen Shot 2014-03-12 at 9.28.11 AM

But the real bummer is shot noise. When fired, the Covert SLS was easily the loudest bow tested. This crossbow is not a scorcher, but velocity and accuracy (1.25 inch average) are more than adequate for hunting tasks. The detachable pistol grip forend, for those that like it, is a nice bonus. For the full review, click here.

Carbon Express Covert Video Review

 

5. Excalibur Matrix 355

John Rambo may have preferred a compound bow, but we’re pretty sure MacGyver’s weapon of choice—besides a Swiss Army knife, of course—would have been a recurve crossbow, an utterly simple yet capable weapon. Excalibur’s new potent, compact, and durable Matrix 355 is a fine example. It’s not perfect, as shot noise was the second loudest tested, but speed was respectable, accuracy phenomenal, and it has a fantastic trigger.

Screen Shot 2014-03-12 at 9.33.35 AM

In fact, after drilling one Easton FMJ shaft inside another at 25 yards and maintaining a group average of just .75 inches, one tester called it “scary accurate.” And, as with all Excaliburs, in the field string changes can be done in 30 seconds. For the full review, click here.

Excaliber Matrix Video Review

 

6. Mission MXB-360

Mission Archery is a division of Mathews, an industry leader in the compound bow arena, so they know a thing or two about flinging fletched projectiles. The MXB-360 impressed us. The nimble, lightweight chassis provides great ergonomics, balancing just forward of the support hand. This superb balance, coupled with the low weight (a shade over 7½ pounds) and only moderate shot vibration, make the Mission a pleasure to shoot. It averaged a 1.75 inch three shot group.

 Screen Shot 2014-03-12 at 9.35.23 AM

The only issue we had is the location of the cocking fixture underneath the stock, which made for the slowest reloading of the test, but we have to say it provides a great angle to keep the cocking rope tight along the rail. For the full review, click here

Mission MXB Video Review

Want to know more? Check out these related articles on our site:

Crossbow Shooting 101

Best Survival Weapons: Bows or Guns?

Bow Making Course | How to Make Your Own Bows




Comments
Continue Reading
6 Comments

6 Comments

  1. Pingback: Crossbow review - Gun and Game - Gun Forum

  2. Jonathan Nicholas Armstrong

    May 18, 2014 at 4:49 AM

    I owned an Excalibur Matrix 355 but now I’m going to buy the Barnett Ghost 400, Hoping that can be a better one than my older crossbow.

  3. Pingback: Top 3 Survival Arrow Spines - Survival Life | Preppers | Survival Gear | Blog - Survival Life | Preppers | Survival Gear | Blog

  4. Daryle Bookout

    December 1, 2014 at 12:12 PM

    I’m unable to give a review of the pistol grip mini crossbow because I’ve never received it. I paid for it Oct.26, 2014. I’m in the process of filing a complaint with the Austin Better Business Bureau. I’ve asked for a refund and they haven’t even done that. Survival life Can’t be trusted. They can also kiss my rear for being such con-artists!

  5. John C Jones

    February 11, 2016 at 8:02 PM

    I bought the stealth tacbow. Be advised that this crossbow requires assembly, and the instructions are very poor. I was unable to string the crossbow, even with help. I have bought my last weapon from Survival Life. Complete waste of money.

  6. Pingback: Make A Crossbow From Scratch [Video] | Survival Life

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Trending

Copyright © 2020 Survival Life. This copyrighted material may not be republished without express permission. The information presented here is for general educational purposes only. MATERIAL CONNECTION DISCLOSURE: You should assume that this website has an affiliate relationship and/or another material connection to the persons or businesses mentioned in or linked to from this page and may receive commissions from purchases you make on subsequent web sites. You should not rely solely on information contained in this website to evaluate the product or service being endorsed. Always exercise due diligence before purchasing any product or service. This website contains advertisements.