Survival Skills Blog & Off The Grid Guides

Dual Survival SSN 3 Review: Joe Teti Fresh Blood or Carbon Copy?

SHARE

Last week was a very busy week for me.  Coming back from the holidays, I only had 3 days to get caught up and this didn’t leave much room for fun.

One thing that I was extremely excited to see was that the new season of Dual Survival had recorded. I have been a huge fan of this show since it first aired.  I do stay up late and probably  could have watched it at any time but I had one problem,  I somehow managed to get my wife addicted to the show as well and she wouldn’t have been happy for me to watch it without her.

Finally the weekend came and  we were able to sit down and enjoy the introductory special as well as the first full episode.

After watching them both I have a few reservations about the future of the show but I want to give it at least a few more episodes before I make a final decision.

Below are my thoughts so far:

I want to start off by saying that I have a ton of respect for Cody Lundin and for Dave Canterbury as well.  The dynamic difference in survival philosophy and style between the two was always entertaining to watch. They seemed to work very well together and keep the show interesting.

Even if Dave had a few indiscretions with his military background he was still a good entertainer and I will be interested to see if  he will be doing any TV work in the future.

I also wanted to point out that this review is based solely on entertainment value, these shows should be used only to entertain viewers and garner an interest in becoming self reliant and gaining new survival skills,  they should never be what you base your survival knowledge on.  If you want to learn survival skills, make sure that you take an actual hands on course from a trusted name in survival.

Cody has not changed much and the special episode aptly titled “Unbraided” seems to have been shot to bolster his position as a real survivalist and remove any mistrust that Dave’s indiscretions may have left looming over Cody.

The real focal point of the show fell on  Joe Teti.

After watching his intro he seemed as though he were going to be a carbon copy of Dave’s skill set and whether or not that will be true has still yet to be seen.

Joe has an impressive amount of experience under his belt ( that is of course if the network did a better job of vetting him than they did with Dave) and I am excited to see how the utilize his skills in the upcoming season.

One major difference that I  noted between Dave and Joe is that Joe has thus far been a bit more stubborn and hot headed than Dave ever was; but that could be based completely on the way the episodes were edited.

Dave also tended to be a bit more respectful of the animal when he made a kill while Joe seems to run on animal instinct, which can be noted specifically when he speared a wild boar in the rainforest and stood over the dead animal with an intense and vicious look on his face.

The show also seemed to put a lot of focus on Joe and Cody butting heads, but I think this can be attributed them earning each others trust and I expect it will calm down considerably in the next few episodes.

Otherwise, the show may need to have its name changed to Duel Survival.

With over half the season already filmed, there is still a lot to see over the next few months.

In my opinion Joe seems to have  filled the void left by the removal of Dave Canterbury but the question we are now left with is:

Will he take this new role and make it his own  or will he just be a carbon copy  stuck in Dave’s shadow?

If you haven’t started watching Dual survival, you can catch it on the Discovery Channel on Tuesday’s

Or you can catch the season 3 special and the first full episode by clicking here

http://dsc.discovery.com/tv-shows/dual-survival

What is your take on Joe Teti and the new season of Dual Survival?

***Updated*** After I posted this review, I noticed that Dave had posted a video in which he opened up a little about what happened with dual survival.  I recently posted a new article with that video on it. Unfortunately  Dave has closed all comments to the video…. but feel free to take a look and let me know what you think of his apology.

Click here to watch Dave’s apology and my final review of Dual Survival Season 3.

Comments

Suggested Videos

Leave a Reply

84 Comments on "Dual Survival SSN 3 Review: Joe Teti Fresh Blood or Carbon Copy?"

Notify of
avatar

Sort by:   newest | oldest | most voted
Richter
Guest
Richter
3 years 4 months ago
0 To be honest, I rarely watch these new programs, As , Like you said, They should be watched for Entertainment Only. Even a show from years ago, called Wilderness Survival, Was, I>M>O>, A Joke, it had the man, (I Don’t recall his name) Showing some Very Good tips & Just as you begin to think ” This Guy knows his way around a tree”, Boom, He start making a series of Mistakes, One right after the Other. But Thats HOLLYWOOD for ya. No, When a good, Down to life Survival movie comes out, You can be sure some Socialist… Read more »
jdub
Guest
jdub
3 years 4 months ago
0 My first impression was one of uncertainty because of the tension noted between the two but, as you have mentioned, I’m sure it’s them getting to know each others ways. Besides, in the coming episodes, it will most likely be noted that things are smoothing out between the two guys. I don’t question Discovery Channel’s programming (they always have great entertainment value in my opinion) and I’m pretty sure if the two guys ‘didn’t work out’ they would have searched for a better companion for Cody. And there are examples in Dual Survival that are noteworthy for your safety… Read more »
Suan
Guest
Suan
3 years 2 months ago
0

Cody is the problem not anyone else he fight and bicker cause he thinks he knows it all. I will never watch this show the only reason I watch the show because of Dave.

Wes
Guest
Wes
3 years 4 months ago
0

Well said. I steer clear of most readily-available information simply because it wouldn’t be readily-available unless the powers-that-be wanted it to
be; and they have NO intention of helping us survive when they are the ones who are aeeking to start civil unrest so they can declare Martial Law and fill their camps!

Larry
Guest
Larry
3 years 4 months ago
0

AMEN WES! Well put!

Ag
Guest
Ag
3 years 4 months ago
0

I was very disappointed in the new man. He has a very closed mind..with him it is the military way or no way. It was a great distraction in the show. Get Dave back!

Also I would like to see some credit given to the photographers that have to trek along with the stars and carrying the photo equipment as well. What a tough road.

Eric B
Guest
Eric B
3 years 4 months ago
0

Completly agree… Joe Teti is a joke

Jose
Guest
Jose
3 years 3 months ago
0

Seems to me with the new guy the show is aiming for a younger crowd. What I liked about Dave and Cody was that they seemed natural, and you learned things you did not need to be an ex-marine to do (like Joe climbing a palm tree with a rope). The show seemed more spontaneous before, not it seems too preplanned and things don’t flow. Cody is cursing way too much. Joe is too intense, and is doing too much. Hopefully both Joe and the producers start relaxing and let things happen.

Suan
Guest
Suan
3 years 2 months ago
0

I agree I have watch the premier and it is boring no chemistry with the new men and I think Cody repeats himself to much maybe he just want to hear himself talk.

larry
Guest
larry
2 years 1 month ago
0

Dave made this show, the new guy ruined this show, don’t even watch anymore, loved it before !

Dennis
Guest
Dennis
3 years 4 months ago
0

I can’t get past the fact that it is just stupid not to protect your feet in a survival situation the best you can.

Derek
Guest
Derek
3 years 3 months ago
0

Former us army special forces, former us army CAG operator(delta), and former CIA special activities division operator. Multiple tours of duty in iraq and afghanistan. Not to mention he has been through virtually every high speed school the military has to offer. Yea, hes such a “joke”! God you internet keyboard heroes crack me up. This man has lived the life, and put it all on the line. What have you accomplished? An associates degree from your local community college? Lol, get real moron. Have some respect for the men keeping you safe at night sheep.

Jdub
Guest
Jdub
3 years 3 months ago
0

From a Vietnam vet — Amen, brother.

HW
Guest
HW
3 years 3 months ago
0 Knowing know that people like Joe are supposed to be these super heroes that keep America safe and graduate from these military schools that have a high attrition rate due to their shear intensity. I suddenly don’t feel very safe anymore. Joe is a dickhead that would leave anyone for dead and if I was a hostage and America sends people like him to come get me I would be afraid he would either shoot me or leave me! Special Ops people are trained killers not survivalist. Hell SERE doesn’t even teach survival as much as E&E. You spend… Read more »
Jill
Guest
3 years 3 months ago
0

I totally agree with you Derek! My boyfriend is a veteran of Iraq. And for all these little boys and girls mocking Joe Teti, hes the one who risked his life to fight for your freedom. So you can sit home with your mommys under ur blankeys and watch Dual Survival!

Ashleigh M
Guest
Ashleigh M
3 years 1 month ago
0 Ahhh ya.. Im with Derek on this.. Joe is a national hero whom Ive come to have the upmost respect for. Hes a leader, and not only that a wounderful roll moldel for my children and all other children as well. Ive watched Dual Survival since it started and this was the best season yet to me. Cody and Joe had their issues but they come from two totally different life styles. Coming from a line a military background myself and my entire family on both sides mom and dad were all in the military. Airforce, Army and Marines.… Read more »
That one guy
Guest
That one guy
3 years 8 days ago
0

Wow Derek, you have accomplished to be one of those internet keyboard heroes. You might be even worse than the other ones.
Complaining on the internet, about people complaining on the internet doesn’t make you better than the rest of them.
Ohh and have some respect for the people with an associates degree from the local community college, they pay their taxes, they make sure there is an army, so you can be safe at night.

You are the kind of person I personally hate. The one that thinks he is better than the rest. while you do the same damn thing.

Smartass.

Derek
Guest
Derek
3 years 3 months ago
0

Dennis disregard my comment, it was directed at eric b above you.

russ
Guest
russ
3 years 4 months ago
0

I am in the market for a “survival knife” I noticed Joe Carries a knife, given his background i can only assume its a good one, what is it and where could one find one?

Larry
Guest
Larry
3 years 4 months ago
0

Russ-
Check out Esee knives. I believe them to be the absolute best. Not cheap and not the most expensive, but the best. Made totally in the USA. I have been looking at knives, and read review after review for over a year (going on 18mos) looking for one. I KNOW I am getting an Esee. Also has a mo questions asked lifetime replacement. They really believe in their product and so do I.

Tomas
Guest
Tomas
3 years 4 months ago
0

Cold steel and Ka-bar make great survival knives look for aus 8 steel steel 1085 steel sk-5 steel 1095 steel and vg-1 steel some of those are equal to eachother in how good they are but they are all amazing steel

Derek
Guest
Derek
3 years 3 months ago
0

Joe carries a SURV TAC 7 made by tops knives.

Chris
Guest
Chris
3 years 4 months ago
0

As far as knives go,you can’t beat a Leatherman style knife for a survival tool.

jdub
Guest
jdub
3 years 4 months ago
0

Kabar; they have two good sizes. And the Kydex sheaths are just about bullet-proof.

Ernest
Guest
Ernest
3 years 4 months ago
0 Having been on extended trips into the wilderness I know that people can and will panic, disagree and question their own ability. So these so are useful. People see an example of how personalities and experience can clash. So try and choose members of your team that will work together rather than waist valuable time and energy arguing. One of the trips we took into a remote area of Ontario Canada could have been disastrous for the 4 of us on the trip.We camped on a medium sized island in a lake. We enjoyed the remoteness, the views of… Read more »
Kris
Guest
Kris
3 years 3 months ago
0 Ernest, I camp on small islands in Ontario all the time. We decided one night a little tispy to take the canoes out on a lake. Immediately after launching things went pitch black and a strong wind started blowing. We ended up a few miles out and luckily were able to find each other fron the sound of one aluminum canoe (1 of 3). In our case we were lucky because one canoe was equipped with an electric troller which ended up towing us back… It was a little frightening, but hell ya, Go Ontario Camping Trips!
Roger
Guest
Roger
3 years 4 months ago
0 I think they all have had their faults and their expertise. I don’t like people who lie any more than anyone and especially about their military experience. However I also think that you can learn something from everyone. I’ve watched this show and several others over the years and my take is learn something from it and discard the things that just don’t make sense to me. My wife and I both watch and both comment about the good ideas and also the crap. Make your own decisions about what makes sense to you for your situation and brush… Read more »
Frank
Guest
Frank
3 years 4 months ago
0 I liked the chemistry between Cody and Dave. I think they played off of each other well. I simply didn’t care for Joe. He seems like a know-it-all bonehead. I have a special ops background with 20 years in the military (to include combat tours in Vietnam and Iraq,and 21 years as a police officer/SWAT. I have also lived in Bosnia, East Timor and Kosovo with the Int’l Police so I have a background and know a bit about these subjects. Joe’s comments about why he was drinking his urine was pathetic and laughable. If drinking urine gives him… Read more »
JazzBruce
Guest
JazzBruce
3 years 4 months ago
0 Not only is Joe an obvious stubborn bonehead, but I think he is not nearly as “manly” as he wants us to believe. As examples: he runs “like a girl”; I think the main reason he wanted to camp on the ground rather than get up in the tree with Cody is because he was afraid that he would be unable to climb the tree; when he unsheathed his knife for the attack on the pig he (for some reason) felt compelled to stop and look at the hand with the knife as if “am I holding it correctly?”;… Read more »
Survivalist
Guest
Survivalist
3 years 3 months ago
0

Um…hey jazz…i think it’s cody who has the gut and man boobs. Joe is pretty fit and has some stout arms. Cody is only 5’4″,so his big gut and “moobs” looks gigantor!

KRK
Guest
KRK
3 years 3 months ago
0 I truly enjoyed the program with Dave and Cody. Their interactions helped showcase the different survival styles. Neither one “out doing” the other, however showing that both have relavent application. Joe doesn’t have the showmanship that Dave had, nor does he respect the natralistic approach to survival. He shows off more than he contributes, and it appears he likes to make all of the decisions. Really, drinking pee to motivate yourself? With all of his military training, I doubt that was necessary. Joe needs a little TV mentoring, something to soften that abrasive edge he displays. Add some charm… Read more »
wpDiscuz

PASSWORD RESET

LOG IN